Philosophy

Other Academics

On this page you will find our

Adjunct and Affiliated Faculty, Contract Instructors and Emeriti and Retired Faculty

 

Adjunct and Affiliated Faculty

Don Carmichael
(PhD, University of Toronto)

Specialization: Political Philosophy, particularly the history of Western political thought, contemporary normative political philosophy (especially topics of rights and justice), selected major thinkers (Aristotle, Hobbes, Rawls, Taylor)
Email: Don.Carmichael@ualberta.ca
Jeffrey Dudiak
(PhD,Vrije Universiteit [Free University],
Amsterdam)

Specialization: Contemporary Continental Philosophy (especially Levinas), Philosophy of Religion, Ethics.
E-mail: jeffrey.dudiak@kingsu.ca

Travis Dumsday
(PhD, University of Calgary)
Specialization: Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Natural Theology, Scholastic tradition (Medieval and Contemporary)
E-mail: travis.dumsday@concordia.ab.ca
James Gaa
(PhDs, Washington University, St. Louis (philosophy);
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (accountancy))
Specialization: Business and Professional Ethics (especially the accounting profession and codes of professional ethics), Ethics and Public Policymaking (with a focus on theoretical aspects of setting professional standards) and Behavioral Ethics
E-mail:james.gaa@ualberta.ca
Allen Hazen
(PhD, University of Pittsburgh)
Specialization: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mathematics, Logic, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, History of Philosophy
E-mail: aphazen@ualberta.ca
Matthew Kostelecky
(PhD,Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
Specialization: Medieval Philosophy (especially theories of cognition in the later middle ages), Philosophical Anthropology, Philosophy of Religion.
E-mail: kostelec@ualberta.ca
Cyrus Panjvani
(PhD, University of St. Andrews, UK)
Specialization: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Buddhist Philosophies, Wittgenstein
E-mail: panjvanic@macewan.ca
Derek Sellman
(PhD, University of London, UK)
Specialization: Philosophy of Nursing, Nursing Ethics, Virtue Ethics
E-Mail: derek.sellman@ualberta.ca
Janet Wesselius
(PhD,Vrije Universiteit [Free University], Amsterdam)
Specialization: Feminist Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Feminist Theory
E-mail: janet.wesselius@ualberta.ca

Neal DeRoo
(PhD, Boston College Boston, MA)

Specialization: 20th Century Continental Philosophy (Phenomenology), Philosophy of Religion, The Amsterdam School (Reformational Philosophy)
E-mail:  neal.deroo@kingsu.ca
Alan McLuckie
(PhD, Stanford University)
Specialization: Kant (primarily Kant's Ethics and Anthropology), Early/Late Modern, and Ancient Philosophy 
E-mail: mcluckie@ualberta.ca
 

Affiliated Faculty (St. Joseph's College)

Nathan Kowalsky
(PhD,Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
Specialization: Environmental Philosophy and Ethics, Philosophy of Religion and Philosophical Theology, Philosophy of Culture, Philosophy of Technology.
E-mail: nek@ualberta.ca 


Contract Instructors

Hassan Masoud
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Interest in Logic, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language.
Office:2-25
E-mail: hassan.masoud@ualberta.ca
Lynn Hughey Engelbert
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Philosophy of Literature, Ethics, Continental Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Philosophy/Psychology.
Office: 2-63 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: lhughey@ualberta.ca
Bart Lenart
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Moral Philosophy, Bioethics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind.  
E-mail:  lenart@ualberta.ca 
Chris Lepock
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Epistemology, Logic. 
Office: 2-51 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: clepock@ualberta.ca
Mike Lockhart
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Free Will.
Office: 2-27 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: mikel@ualberta.ca
Kristin Rodier
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Aesthetics, Ethics, Political Philosophy, Literature, French Philosophy, Feminism, Postmodern Philosophy, Psychoanalysis, Existentialism, Phenomenology.
Office: 3-50 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: rodier@ualberta.ca 
Charles Rodger
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: German Idealism, Continental Philosophy.
Office: 3-46 Assiniboia Hall
John Simpson
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Social and Political Philosophy Issues with Rationality and Game Theory.
Office: 2-68 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: john.simpson@ualberta.ca
Martin Tweedale
(PhD, University of California, Los Angeles)
Specialization: Medieval Scholastic Philosophy, particularly Logic, Metaphysics and the Interpretation of Aristotle, Ancient Greek Philosophy.
Office: 3-43 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: martin.tweedale@ualberta.ca 


Emeriti and Retired Faculty

Richard Bosley
(PhD, University of Gottingen)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Aristotelian Logic, Ancient and Medieval philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Ancient Chinese Philosophy.
E-mail: richard.bosley@ualberta.ca
Robert Burch
(PhD, University of Toronto)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization:
 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy (especially Heidegger and Hegel), Phenomenology, Philosophy of Technology, Philosophy and Literature, Kant.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-55, (780) 492-3307
E-mail:robert.burch@ualberta.ca 
Allen Carlson
(PhD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

Professor Emeritus
Specialization:
 Aethestics, Environmental Philosophy, Epistemology.
E-mail: allen.carlson@ualberta.ca

Ferrel Christensen
(PhD, University of Indiana)

Professor Emeritus
Specialization:
 Philosophy of Science.
E-mail: ferrel.christensen@ualberta.ca

Wesley Cooper
(PhD, University of Calgary)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization:
 Moral Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, William James, Robert Nozick.
E-mail: wes.cooper@ualberta.ca
Bruce Hunter
(PhD, Brown University)
Associate Professor retired
Specialization: Theory of Knowledge, History of Philosophy.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-28, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: bruce.hunter@ualberta.ca
Cameron Mackenzie
(MLitt, University of Edinburgh)

Associate Professor retired
Specialization: Ethics.
E-mail: jcm_wynd@yahoo.co.uk

Adam Morton
(PhD, Princeton University)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Epistemology, Decision Theory, the boundary between Ethics and Philosophy of Mind.
E-mail: adam.morton@ualberta.ca
Peter A. Schouls
(PhD, University of Toronto)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Enlightenment Concepts such as Freedom, Progress, Revolution; Environmental Philosophy, History of Modern Philosophy.
E-mail: pschouls@telus.net
David Sharp
(PhD, Princeton University)
Associate Professor Retired
Specialization: Philosophy of Science, Logic.
E-mail: david.sharp@ualberta.ca
Roger Shiner
(PhD, Cambridge University)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Philosophy of Law, Greek Philosophy, Aesthetics.
E-mail: rshiner@exchange.ubc.ca
Martin Tweedale
(PhD, University of California, Los Angeles)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Medieval Scholastic Philosophy, particularly Logic, Metaphysics and the Interpretation of Aristotle, Ancient Greek Philosophy.  
E-mail: martin.tweedale@ualberta.ca
Fred Van De Pitte
(PhD, University of Southern California)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Descartes, Kant, Modern Philosophy.
Margaret Van De Pitte
(PhD, University of Southern California)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Aesthetics, Contemporary European Philosophy, Philosophy of the Environment.
Back to Top