Philosophy

Other Academics

On this page you will find our

Adjunct and Affiliated Faculty, Academic Teaching Staff and Emeriti and Retired Faculty

Adjunct and Affiliated Faculty

Don Carmichael
(Professor Emeritus, Political Science, University of Alberta)

Specialization: Political Philosophy, particularly the history of Western political thought, contemporary normative political philosophy (especially topics of rights and justice), selected major thinkers (Aristotle, Hobbes, Rawls, Taylor)
EmailDon.Carmichael@ualberta.ca

Neal DeRoo
(Associate Professor, Philosophy and CRC in Phenomenology
and Philosophy of Religion, The King’s University)

Specialization: 20th Century Continental Philosophy (Phenomenology), Philosophy of Religion, The Amsterdam School (Reformational Philosophy)
E-mail: neal.deroo@kingsu.ca 
Jeffrey Dudiak
(Professor, Philosophy, The King’s University)

Specialization: Contemporary Continental Philosophy (especially Levinas), Philosophy of Religion, Ethics.
E-mail: jeffrey.dudiak@kingsu.ca

Travis Dumsday
(Assistant Professor, Philosophy,
Concordia University of Edmonton)
Specialization: Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Natural Theology, Scholastic tradition (Medieval and Contemporary)
E-mail: travis.dumsday@concordia.ab.ca

Edwin Etieyibo
(Associate Professor, Philosophy,
University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Specialization: Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, African Philosophy
email: Edwin.Etieyibo@wits.ac.za
James Gaa
(Professor Emeritus, Accounting, Alberta School of Business) 
Specialization: Business and Professional Ethics (especially the accounting profession and codes of professional ethics), Ethics and Public Policymaking (with a focus on theoretical aspects of setting professional standards) and Behavioral Ethics
E-mail:james.gaa@ualberta.ca
Allen Hazen
(PhD, University of Pittsburgh)
Specialization:Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mathematics, Logic, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, History of Philosophy
E-mail: aphazen@ualberta.ca

Cressida Heyes
(Professor, Political Science, University of Alberta)

Specialization: Feminist Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophies of the Body, Foucault, Wittgenstein
E-mail: cressida.heyes@ualberta.ca
Matthew Kostelecky
(Associate Professor, Philosophy, St. Joseph’s College,
University of Alberta)
Specialization:Medieval Philosophy (especially theories of cognition in the later middle ages), Philosophical Anthropology, Philosophy of Religion.
E-mail: kostelec@ualberta.ca
Derek Sellman
(Associate Professor, Nursing, University of Alberta) 
Specialization: Philosophy of Nursing, Nursing Ethics, Virtue Ethics
E-Mail: derek.sellman@ualberta.ca

Affiliated Faculty (St. Joseph's College)

Nathan Kowalsky
(Associate Professor, Philosophy, St. Joseph’s College,
University of Alberta)
Specialization:Environmental Philosophy and Ethics, Philosophy of Religion and Philosophical Theology, Philosophy of Culture, Philosophy of Technology.
E-mail:nek@ualberta.ca

Academic Teaching Staff

Maiya Jordan
(PhD, McGill)
Specialization: Phenomenology, Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Mind, Moral Psychology
Office: 2-27 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail : jordan1@ualberta.ca 
Richard Kover
(PhD, Leuven)
Specialization: Environmental philosophy, Philosophy of Technology, Psychoanalytic theory, Religious Existentialism, Political and Cultural theory, Philosophical Anthropology
Office: 0-15 St. Joseph’s College
E-mail : kover@ualberta.ca 
Mike Lockhart
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Free Will.
Office: 2-27 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: mikel@ualberta.ca 
Hassan Masoud
(PhD, University of Alberta) 
Specialization: Logic, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language.
Office:2-67 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: hassan.masoud@ualberta.ca
Alan McLuckie
(PhD, Stanford University)
Specialization: Kant (primarily Kant's Ethics and Anthropology), Early/Late Modern, and Ancient Philosophy
2-46 Assiniboia Hall
E-mail: mcluckie@ualberta.ca
Charles Rodger
(PhD, University of Alberta)

Specialization:German Idealism, Continental Philosophy.
E-mail: crodger@ualberta.ca

Jay Worthy
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Specialization: Continental Philosophy, Ethics
Office: Assiniboia Hall
E-mail : jworthy@ualberta.ca 

Emeriti and Retired Faculty

Richard Bosley
(PhD, University of Gottingen)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Aristotelian Logic, Ancient and Medieval philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Ancient Chinese Philosophy.
E-mail: richard.bosley@ualberta.ca
Robert Burch
(PhD, University of Toronto)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization:
19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy (especially Heidegger and Hegel), Phenomenology, Philosophy of Technology, Philosophy and Literature, Kant.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-55, (780) 492-3307
E-mail:robert.burch@ualberta.ca 
Allen Carlson
(PhD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

Professor Emeritus
Specialization:
 Aethestics, Environmental Philosophy, Epistemology.
E-mail: allen.carlson@ualberta.ca

Ferrel Christensen
(PhD, University of Indiana)

Professor Emeritus
Specialization:
 Philosophy of Science.
E-mail: ferrel.christensen@ualberta.ca

Wesley Cooper
(PhD, University of Calgary)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization:
 Moral Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, William James, Robert Nozick.
E-mail: wes.cooper@ualberta.ca
Glenn Griener
PhD, University of Western Ontario

Associate Professor retired
Specialization: Biomedical Ethics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Social Science.
E-mail: glenn.griener@ualberta.ca

Bruce Hunter
(PhD, Brown University)
Associate Professor Retired
Specialization: Theory of Knowledge, History of Philosophy.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-28, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: bruce.hunter@ualberta.ca
Bernard Linsky
PhD, Stanford University 
Professor Emeritus
Specialization
: Philosophical Logic, Metaphysics, Early Analytic Philosophy (especially Bertrand Russell), Philosophy of Language.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-51, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: bernard.linsky@ualberta.ca
Cameron Mackenzie
(MLitt, University of Edinburgh)

Associate Professor Retired
Specialization: Ethics.
E-mail: jcm_wynd@yahoo.co.uk

Adam Morton
(PhD, Princeton University)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Epistemology, Decision Theory, the boundary between Ethics and Philosophy of Mind.
E-mail: adam.morton@ualberta.ca
Jeff Pelletier
PhD, UCLA 
Professor Emeritus
Specialization
: Philosophy of Logic and Language, Modern Philosophical Analysis, Computational Linguistics, Artificial Intelligence, Cognitive Science, Ancient Philosophy.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-45, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: jeff.pelletier@ualberta.ca 
Alexander Rueger
PhD, Phil. University of Konstanz 
Professor Emeritus
Specialization
: History and Philosophy of Science (especially Physics), Kant, History of Aesthetics. 
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-64, (780) 492-3307 
E-mail: alex.rueger@ualberta.ca  
Peter A. Schouls
(PhD, University of Toronto)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Enlightenment Concepts such as Freedom, Progress, Revolution; Environmental Philosophy, History of Modern Philosophy.
E-mail: pschouls@telus.net
David Sharp
(PhD, Princeton University)
Associate Professor Retired
Specialization: Philosophy of Science, Logic.
E-mail: david.sharp@ualberta.ca
Roger Shiner
(PhD, Cambridge University)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Philosophy of Law, Greek Philosophy, Aesthetics.
E-mail: rshiner@exchange.ubc.ca
Martin Tweedale
(PhD, University of California, Los Angeles)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Medieval Scholastic Philosophy, particularly Logic, Metaphysics and the Interpretation of Aristotle, Ancient Greek Philosophy.  
E-mail: martin.tweedale@ualberta.ca
Fred Van De Pitte
(PhD, University of Southern California)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Descartes, Kant, Modern Philosophy.
Margaret Van De Pitte
(PhD, University of Southern California)
Professor Emeritus
Specialization:Aesthetics, Contemporary European Philosophy, Philosophy of the Environment.
Back to Top