Scholarships and Awards

Andrew Stewart Prize

The Andrew Stewart Memorial Graduate Prize is endowed by the University of Alberta. The award was named for Andrew Stewart, President of the University from 1950 to 1959, under whose administration the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research was created. Approximately 16 awards are granted each year (the number depends on how much the endowment earns).

Click on '+' to expand information.

  • Value
    The value for this award is $5,000.
  • Eligibility & Selection Criteria
    • Must be a full-time PhD student
    • There are no restrictions on citizenship
    • Year(s) of Eligibility: Student must have completed at least 24 months (2 years) in their PhD program by December 31, 2019.
    • Area of Study: All fields of study are eligible for funding
    • Year(s) of Tenure: A recipient may hold the award only once
    • Selection Criterion: Student must be actively engaged in thesis research at the time of the award offering
    • Selection Criterion: The major selection criterion of this award is research accomplishment while registered in a doctoral program at the University of Alberta
    • Selection Criterion: Selection is secondarily based on academic merit
    • Additional Information: This prize can be held concurrently with any other award, provided that the terms of that award do not disallow it

    Note: If you transferred from a Master’s program to a Doctoral program, the number of months completed during the Master’s program will count towards the Doctoral Program. 
  • Application Procedures

    Details for 2020 Andrew Stewart Prize application process is forthcoming.

  • Nomination Procedures
    Details for 2020 Andrew Stewart Prize nomination process is forthcoming.
  • Adjudication Procedures
    The FGSR Graduate Scholarship Committee adjudicates the competition and notifies winners directly.
  • Deadlines
    Deadline for 2020 competition: TBA