Sandy Mactaggart Award

Scholarship Details

Value: up to $20,000

This award was created to honour Board Chair Emeritus and Chancellor Emeritus Sandy A Mactaggart for his many contributions to the University of Alberta. Mactaggart spent ten years on the Board of Governors, four years as Chancellor and Chair of the Senate, and six months as Interim Chair of the Board. He was a generous philanthropist who supported many initiatives within the city of Edmonton and at the University of Alberta.

The Sandy Mactaggart Award is given to University of Alberta undergraduate or graduate students to assist them in undertaking study abroad for one or more semesters in Asia as part of a University of Alberta degree.

Application Open: January 15, 2020
Closing Deadline: March 16, 2020


Candidates must:

  • Have submitted an application for exchange to the Education Abroad office demonstrating that you are planning to study for at least one semester in Asia for the 2019 - 2020 academic year
  • Be continuing undergraduate or graduate students
  • Have satisfactory academic standing
  • Study in Asia for at least one semester
  • Demonstrate ability to benefit from pursuing academic studies in Asia, show an interest in learning more about Asian peoples and cultures, and show an interest in fostering international understanding
  • Indicated financial need

Eligible Countries

Preference will be given to applicants wanting to study at the universities that have established formal exchange agreements with the University of Alberta:

  • Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
  • Yonsei University in Korea
  • Thammasat University in Thailand
  • University of Hong Kong
  • National University of Singapore
  • Nanyang Technical University, Singapore

For applicants who are interested in studying at a country and institution other than the above, the following countries will be given preference. To study in a country that does not have a formal exchange agreement with the University of Alberta, applicants must research and provide sufficient documentation to support the chosen program of study.

  • Burma
  • Bhutan
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Korea
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Nepal
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam
  • South Asia
  • Sri Lanka

How to Apply

For application-based awards administered by the Office of the Registrar, you can apply online:

Apply for Awards

You can also access the award application form via Bear Tracks.


The assessment of applications for this award has been delayed to due COVID-19. We hope to have updates to eligible applicants by July/August 2020.

Please note, successful applicants may be asked to do a short presentation at the end of their exchange.

To find out more about accepting and declining your award, financial information, and thanking your donor, please visit Information for Award Recipients.