The University of Alberta acknowledges with gratitude the invaluable financial assistance the Killam Trusts have given to the University and its Killam laureates (doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, and professors). Since 1967, the endowments created by the Killam bequest have provided more than $127.3 million in program funding to the University of Alberta.

These pages are dedicated to our talented Killam award recipients.

2021 Doctoral Laureates

Dorothy J. Killam Memorial Graduate Prize

Three prizes are awarded annually to the most outstanding Killam Memorial Scholarship recipients (learn more). Here are the faces - and stories - of the 2021 recipients.

Naiomi Metallic
Faculty of Law

"Finding Spaces for Indigenous Law in Canada"

Read more

Kim Cuong Nguyen
Department of Radiology & Diagnostic Imaging

"Imaging dental issues using ionizing radiation-free ultrasound"

Read more

Joshua Hefler
Department of Surgery

"Normothermic Machine Perfusion of the Liver as a Model for Acute Liver Failure"

Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship

These prestigious scholarships are awarded to outstanding doctoral students (learn more).

View the list of 2021 recipients

2021 Postdoctoral Laureates

Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Postdoctoral Fellowship

Killam Postdoctoral Fellowships are awarded to outstanding individuals who have recently completed a doctoral program. View the list of 2021 recipients.

Killam Annual Professorships

Up to eight Killam Annual Professorships are awarded each year to outstanding academics at the University of Alberta in recognition of their distinguished scholarship. Learn about the 2021 recipients.

Killam Accelerator Research Award

The Killam Accelerator Research Award is awarded to early career faculty members for a three-year term based on the outstanding promise shown by the faculty member in their research output and the impact of their scholarly activity. Learn about the 2021 recipients.

Killam Memorial Chairs

The Killam Memorial Endowment funds at least two Killam Memorial Chairs at the University of Alberta in scientific and/or engineering fields. Learn about current and previous chairs.

Killam Award for Excellence in Mentoring

The Killam Award for Excellence in Mentoring recognizes academic staff members at the University of Alberta who demonstrate outstanding performance in mentoring undergraduate and graduate students in research, as well as postdoctoral fellows and visiting researchers.

Kimberley Mathot
Department of Biological Sciences

Read more about Dr. Mathot's work here: