Margaret Ruth Crawford Memorial Scholarship

The Margaret Ruth Crawford Memorial Scholarship, valued at $1000, is awarded annually to a student with superior academic achievement who is graduating from a Psychology program at the University of Alberta and entering a graduate program in a clinically-related field. Application is through self-nomination and consists of a letter explaining why the student deserves the award, an official transcript, and proof of acceptance into a relevant graduate program.

To apply, please visit the Undergraduate & Graduating Awards section of the Scholarships, Awards and Financial Support website. This award is no longer processed through the Department of Psychology but through the Awards office.

NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Awards

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) provides Undergraduate Student Research Awards (also known as USRA or Summer Studentships) to science and engineering students. These awards provide financial support for students to gain research experience in an academic setting between May and August and are meant to encourage students to pursue graduate studies and a research career in these fields. For more information, see the NSERC Student Research Awards webpage.

Applications are due in the Psychology General Office, BS P217, by February 6 at 4:00 pm.

* Note that if February 6 falls on a weekend, then the deadline is 4:00 pm on the following Monday

** For the 2021 competition, please email a PDF of your application package (your application, your supervisor's application and your transcript) to by 4:00 pm on Monday, February 8th.

Roger S. Smith Undergraduate Student Research Award

The Faculty of Arts Undergraduate Student Researcher Award, valued at $5000, provides 15 students in the Faculty of Arts with the opportunity to engage in 15 weeks of research-based activity during the summer months. Available to continuing undergraduate students enrolled in the Faculty of Arts with a minimum GPA of 3.3. For more information or the application form, see the Roger S. Smith Undergraduate Researcher Award webpage.

Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research

Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research (AHFMR) awards Summer Studentships, which offer motivated students with exceptional academic records an opportunity to participate in medical or health research during the summer months. The award is meant to encourage students to pursue formal training and a career in health research. The award consists of a stipend only.