Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs (CRC) is a program of the Federal Government of Canada with the goal to recruit and retain the world's best researchers.

Tier 1 CRCs, tenable for seven years and renewable, are for outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields.

Tier 2 Chairs, tenable for an initial five years and renewable once, are for exceptional emerging researchers, acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their field.

The list of current FoMD CRCS is provided below. Additional information can be found on the University of Alberta Research Services Office website.

For further information please contact:

Mark Taylor
Director of Research
Tel: 780-492-9720

Tier 1 CRCs

Chair in Molecular Medicine
Dr. Jason Dyck

Chair in Prion Disease
Dr. David Westaway

Chair in Structural Molecular Biology
Dr. Mark Glover

Chair in Transplantation Surgery and Regenerative Medicine
Dr. James Shapiro

Chair in Maternal and Perinatal Cardiovascular Health
Dr. Sandra Davidge

Tier 2 CRCs