Changes to the Salary Restraint Regulation for non-bargaining unit members

22 July 2022

The Government of Alberta (GoA) has announced important changes to the Salary Restraint Regulation (SRR) and its impact on post-secondary institutions across the province. The SRR applies to the U of A’s Management and Professional Staff (MAPS), Academic Administrators and Excluded Support Staff. Since coming into effect on April 1, 2018, it has required that salaries for non-union staff remain frozen.

Public agencies, including the U of A, are now able to provide a modest annual base salary increase retroactive to April 1, 2022. This interim approach is designed to strike a balance between fiscal oversight and employer flexibility and competitiveness.

For more information, view FAQs on Salary Restraint Regulation for Eligible Employees.