Indigenous Heritage

The Sweetgrass Spirit Bear is located on the main quad

The University of Alberta respectfully acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 6 territory, a traditional gathering place for diverse Indigenous peoples, including the Cree, Blackfoot, Metis, Nakota Sioux, Haudenosaunee, Dene, Ojibway/ Saulteaux/Anishinaabe, Inuit, and many others whose histories, languages, and cultures continue to influence our vibrant community.

Learn about Indigenous Canada from the Faculty of Native Studies in the Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada.