Awards and Accolades - April 2017

Join us in celebrating the achievements of faculty, staff and students.

Kirsten Bauer - 19 April 2017

Members of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry are really showing off their skills this month. From local undergraduate awards to international awards, our students, staff, faculty and alumni have been recognized for their outstanding achievements. Congratulations to all, you continue to make the FoMD community proud!


Lewis Kay, (BSc '83) 'favourite son' of the Department of Biochemistry, has won a Canada Gairdner Award. Read more

Louis Hugo Francescutti
,(MD '83, PhD '85) received a Meritorious Service Medal (Military Division) on April 4, 2017 from David Johnston, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada.

Francescutti Governor Gral of Canada_web.jpg

Ernest Janzen, (MD '79) was recognized with the 2016 Regional Prix d'excellence-Specialist as Specialist of the Year in Western Canada by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. The award recognizes specialists who have made significant contributions in providing outstanding care to their patients and community. See the Prairie Post story.

Ronald Lett (MD '76, MSc '84) is a recipient of the Augustana Distinguished Alumni Award.

Robin McLeod (MD '75) is the 2017 recipient of the Royal College's Duncan Graham Award for Outstanding Contribution to Medical Education. McLeod has become a role model for being one of the first Canadian surgeon scientists trained in the field of clinical epidemiology and biostatistics. She holds the distinction of having been the first female president of the Canadian Association of General Surgeons.

Robin McLeod WEB.jpg


The FoMD is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Excellence in Mentoring Award:

Tier I Basic - Gary Lopaschuk

Tier II Basic - Frances Plane

Tier I Clinical - Joan Robinson

Tier II Clinical - Elaine Yacyshyn

Aja Rieger, Flow Cytometry Core Manager in the Department of Cell Biology has received a Shared Resource Emerging Leader Award. This is a great achievement for Rieger, and highlights the FoMD's expertise in this growing technology.

Vijay Daniels, Department of Medicine, has been voted the Honorary Class President for the MD Class of 2017. As part of this role, he is organizing a rock concert involving 20 students for the graduating class.

Sangita Sharma and her team have received further support for their work. They have just received $45,000 from Canada Beef to expand the Why Act Now program, as well as $20,000 from ivari's Healthy Steps, in partnership with the Alberta Diabetes Foundation, to develop programs for vulnerable youth served by community organizations in Edmonton.


MSc student Danielle Clarkis the first Canadian to receive the American Dental Education Association / Crest Oral-B Scholarship for Dental Hygiene Students Pursuing Academic Careers. Well done!

Kat Stone, third-year MD student, won the gold for UAlberta alongside Arts teammate Ember Large, in the Relay Cross race at the Canadian Cross Country Ski Nationals in Canmore. Relay cross is new this year, and includes rollers, uphills, downhill slalom courses, banks and turns along with one low barrier. The two courses are approximately two kilometers in length and include a single "escargot" where the course spirals in the pattern of a snail shell. Incredible!

Kat Stone- SKiing WEB.jpg

Maryam Elyasi, School of Dentistry PhD student, has earned the Research Aid Award from the American Academy of Orthodontics, as well as the Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship.

Matthew Pietrosanu received an NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award to work with Rhonda Rosychuk on a statistical methods project.

Wes Paylor, PhD student in Psychiatry, was awarded an NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarship (CGS-D).

Eszter Wendlandt, MSc student in Psychiatry, was awarded an NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarship (CGS-M).

The Festival of Undergraduate Research & Creative Activities recognized two FoMD students. Xiao Jing (Lily) Sun was the winner of the Outstanding Interdisciplinary Award for her project Total Arsenic and Speciation of Arsenic in Albertan Freshwater Fish, and Michael Taylor won the Outstanding Communication Award for his two poems "For Mommy" and "M.A.N."

Congratulations to dentistry grad student Mohamed Omaron receiving the 2017 International Association for Dental Research (IADR) Unilever Hatton Award this week. Competing with 27 other countries, Omar's research not only received first place in the competition for Canada, but it's also the first time an Alberta researcher has received the prestigious award.

Farhia Haque, Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute, received the People's Choice Award in the 2017 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) UAlberta Competition for her presentation "Rogue Soldiers: Neurons That Help Us Walk." Great Job!

Did we miss something?We'd love to hear about it. If you know about someone in the FoMD who deserves to be recognized, or have other awards-related inquiries, please contact Kirsten Bauer, Awards Coordinator at