Awards & Accolades - October 2020

Celebrating the achievements of our faculty, staff and students.

Kirsten Bauer - 21 October 2020

For all humankind

Dr. Michael Houghton, Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, won the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his discovery of the hepatitis C virus, along with colleagues Qui-Lim Choo and George Kuo. According to their website, Nobel prizes are awarded "to those who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind.Read more

Faculty excellence

Dr. Philip F. Halloran, Department of Medicine, received the 2020 International Scholar Award from the American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI). Learn how he is changing the lives of organ transplant patients around the world.

Dr. Arya Sharma and Dr. Justin Ezekowitz, Department of Medicine, were named fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Dr. Kyle Sue, Department of Pediatrics, has received the 2020 Canadian ADHD Resource Alliance (CADDRA) Indigenous Healthcare Award.

Caring in the community

Congratulations to all in the Department of Family Medicine who were celebrated with awards from the Alberta College of Family Physicians (ACFP):

  • Dr. Andrew Cave - ACFP Family Physician of the Year
  • Dr. Allen Ausford - Recognition of Excellence
  • Boyle McCauley Health Centre - Patient’s Medical Home – Outstanding Family Practice
  • Catherine Palme - ACFP Student Leadership – Rising Star Award
  • Dr. Derek Chan - Family Medicine Resident Leadership Award
  • Dr. Kiran Dhillon, Edmonton - ACFP Champion Award
  • Dr. Donna Manca, Edmonton - ACFP Long-term Service Award

Division of Neurology

Congratulations to Dr. Kaylynn Purdy, neurology resident, on the publication of her illustration on the cover of Neurology

“This sketch is a tribute to neurology residents across the globe for their resilience and courage in the throes of a pandemic. Residents have isolated themselves from family, delayed training, and worked longer hours while remaining true to the pursuit of excellence and compassion in neurologic care. This piece recognizes and memorializes how neurology residents have adapted to working in a pandemic and propped up our health systems,” wrote Dr. Purdy. 

Illustration of neurology reidents by Dr. Kylynn Purdy


In the same journal, Dr. Janis Miyasaki published her paper, “Leadership, Recognition Awards and Publication by Men and Women in the American Academy of Neurology.”

Research and innovation

Dr. Sangita Sharma, Department of Medicine, has received a five-year, $1,384,650 grant from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) to research patient experiences of access to and availability of health-care services in Indigenous communities in the Northwest Territories. 

Dr. Shokrollah Elahi, School of Dentistry, received a joint grant from the Canadian Cancer Research Society and CIHR for breast cancer research. 

Learners as leaders

Congratulations to the following learners who each received a Department of Pediatrics Recruitment Scholarship, worth $7,500:

  • Cleighton Boehme (MSc) - supervisor Lisa Hornberger
  • Kyle Reid (MSc) - supervisor Lonnie Zwaigenbaum
  • Nicole Rodriguez (MSc) - supervisor Anita Kozyrskyj

Prayash Katlariwala, MD student, is the recipient of a Radiological Society of North America Medical Student Research Grant, which is considered the most prestigious medical student award for radiology in North America.

Prayash Katlariwala, MD student, is the recipient of a Radiological Society of North America Medical Student Research Grant