Awards & Accolades - October 2021

Celebrating the achievements of faculty, staff and students.

Kirsten Bauer - 21 October 2021

National & International excellence

Congratulations to Dr. Cyril Kay, professor emeritus of biochemistry and one of the world’s foremost protein biochemists, on being named to the Alberta Order of Excellence. Read more. 


Dr. Sue-Ann Mok, assistant professor in the Department of Biochemistry, and Dr. Trevor Steve, assistant professor in the Department of Medicine, have been named 2020 Future Leaders in Canadian Brain Research. Both researchers are members of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute (NMHI). Read more.


Dr. Maria Ioannou, Department of Physiology and adjunct in the Department of Cell Biology, was awarded the National New Investigator Award and the Henry J. M. Barnett Scholarship from the Heart and Stroke Foundation. Dr. Ioannou is a member of NMHI, the Women and Children's Health Research Institute (WCHRI) and the Group on Molecular and Cell Biology of Lipids.

Congratulations to Dr. Evangelos Michelakis, Department of Medicine, on the 2021 Killam Annual Professorship.

Dr. Justine Turner, Department of Pediatrics, is the 2022 recipient of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN) Rhoads Research Foundation’s George Blackburn Research Mentorship Award. This award recognizes nutrition leaders for their achievements as outstanding research mentors.

Dr. Karen Doucette, Department of Medicine,  was awarded the 2021 Canadian Society of Transplantation Clinical Recognition Award.

Outstanding in their field 

Dr. Adriana Lazarescu, Department of Medicine,  received the Alberta Society of Gastroenterology (ASG) Distinguished Educator Award.

Dr. Aldo Montano-Loza, Department of Medicine was awarded the ASG Distinguished Researcher Award.

Dr. Colin Anderson, Department of Surgery, and Adeolu Adegoke, co-investigator and graduate student, were recently awarded the 10X Genomics Core Lab Program Grant. 

Congratulations to Dr. Matthew Hicks and Dr. Joseph Ting on being appointed Pediatric Clinical Research Professors with support from Variety, the Children's Charity and the Stollery Children's Hospital Foundation for a five-year term.

Learners as leaders

Kim Cuong Nguyen, Radiology & Diagnostic Imaging PhD candidate, was recognized with the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship and the Dorothy J. Killam Memorial Graduate Prize for her work in imaging dental issues using ionizing radiation-free ultrasound. Read more