Our Residency Programs

We offer over 60 residency training programs within the University of Alberta. Each of these high-quality clinical training programs is approved by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) or the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC). Completion of a residency program prepares medical residents for RCPSC and CFPC certification, one of the requirements for obtaining a license to practice medicine in Alberta.

Albertans who have graduated from medical schools outside Canada or the United States who wish to practice medicine, may choose to apply to one of our 11 residency programs who participate in the Alberta International Medical Graduate Program (AIMG).