Change Champions

Kirsten Bauer

Photos by
Laughing Dog Photography

Some are providing dental care to those living in poverty; some leading the charge on cutting edge women's health research or advocating for LGBTQ-inclusive health care. Here are some of our most recent alumni plus current undergraduate students, resident physicians and graduate students. All are change champions carving out new directions in health care, education, research and public policy.

Derek Fehr, '14 BMus, '19 MD

Future psychiatrist. Named in the Top 30 under 30 by the Alberta Council for Global Cooperation. Recognized for inclusive LGBTQ health-care leadership through MD curriculum development and public engagement.

Finola Hackett, '19 MD

Future rural family physician. University of Alberta's 2017 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award winner. Planetary health and equity advocate striving for improved global health policy and accessible care for all.

Denise Alano, '19 MLS

Vice-president of wellness, Medical Laboratory Students Association. Organized Wellness Nights to reinforce vital peer-led support systems and improve student well-being.

Regan Clarke, '19 BScRT

Patient-focused. People-person. Radiation therapist passionate about providing better cancer care for patients and their families facing some of their hardest days.

Andrew Woodman, MD/PhD class of 2023

Vanier Scholar. Unraveling the links between pregnancy conditions and babies' long-term health with Stephane Bourque, Canada Research Chair in Developmental and Integrative Cardiovascular Pharmacology. Supported by Alberta Innovates.

Haran Yogasundaram, '10 BSc ChemE, '16 MD, Post-graduate year four resident, Cardiology, Department of Medicine.

Chemical engineer. Resident leader. Innovative clinician working towards better diagnosis and treatment of cardiac disease.

Maham Masoud, DH class of 2020

Vice-president Dental Hygiene, SHINE Dentistry Executive Committee. Making oral health an accessible reality for all through community initiatives.

Jhoyli Labrador-Stacey, '15 BSc, DDS class of 2021

Organizer, Dental Student Association's Ninth Annual Winter Charity Ball. Helped raise $120,000 towards Dentistry for All, the Student Support and Well-being Fund and the Boyle McCauley Dental Clinic.