Education and Teaching Awards

Faculty Awards

David Cook Award
Awarded annually to a faculty member (or a group of members) of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry who has successfully planned and implemented a significant curricular innovation.

Deadline: mid-December 

E. N. Skakun Award for Service to Education
Recognizing the achievements of an individual who has made a major and long-term contribution to the educational leadership and scholarship in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry.

Deadline: mid-December

University Awards

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
Recognizes graduate-level teaching excellence by full-time continuing academic staff.

Deadline: Last Friday of February

Killam Award for Excellence in Mentoring
Awarded for outstanding performance in the area of mentoring summer research students, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting research scholars and undergraduate students.

Deadline: TBA

McCalla Professorships
Given to outstanding academics who have made (and continue to make) significant contributions to the integration of teaching and research, and educational leadership.

Deadline: early April

Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Recognizes the achievement of teaching excellence by full-time continuing academic staff within five years of their first university appointment.

Deadline: Last Friday of February

Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Deadline: Last Friday of February

William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Deadline: Last Friday of February

National Awards

Canadian Association for Medical Education (CAME)

CAME Certificate of Merit Award
CAME Ian Hart Award
CAME Meridith Marks New Educator Award

Deadline for CAME awards: December 8

The Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC)

AFMC May Cohen Equity, Diversity, and Gender Award
AFMC Award for Outstanding Contribution to Faculty Development in Canada
AFMC Clinical Teacher Award
AFMC John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education
AFMC President's Award for Exemplary National Leadership in Academic Medicine
AFMC Young Educator's Award

Deadline for AFMC awards: September 30

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC)

Duncan Graham Award for Lifelong Contribution to Medical Education
Conferred upon any individual, whether physician or not, in recognition of outstanding contribution to medical education.

Deadline: September 14

James H. Graham Award of Merit for Commitment to the Royal College
Presented to an individual whose outstanding achievements reflect the aims and objectives of the Royal College.

Deadline: September 14

Kristin Sivertz Resident Leadership Award
Awarded to a resident who has demonstrated leadership in Canadian specialty education and encourages the development of future leaders in medicine.

Deadline: March 8

Program Administrator Award for Innovation and Excellence
Presented to a residency Program Administrator who has demonstrated a commitment to excellence in supporting all aspects of residency education, demonstrating excellence and/or improved or newly implemented processes within their program(s).

Deadline: March 8

Program Director of the Year Award
Given annually to a program director who has demonstrated a commitment to enhancing residency education as evidenced by innovation and impact beyond his or her program.

Deadline: March 8

Regional Mentor of the Year Award
Recognizing Fellows of the Royal College who have had a significant impact on the career development of students, residents or other Fellows.

Deadline: March 9

Royal College Accredited CPD Provider Innovation Awards
Given annually to up to three accredited providers of continuing professional development (CPD) recognized by the Royal College.

Deadline: September 10

Royal College Dr.Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health Award
Celebrates Canadian physicians or physicians-in-training who epitomize a zeal and devotion to Canadian Indigenous rights and pursuit of justice for Canada's Indigenous people.

Deadline: September 14

Royal College Teasdale-Corti Humanitarian Award
Presented to Canadian physicians who, while providing health care or emergency medical services, go beyond the accepted norms of routine practice, which may include exposure to personal risk.

Deadline: September 14

Royal College/Associated Medical Services DonaldR. Wilson Award for CanMEDS integration
Given annually to a medical educator or a leader of a team, program, or department who has demonstrated excellence in integrating the CanMEDS roles into a Royal College or other health-related training program.

Deadline: September 14